Home mp3 player

Join The Newsletter

Hangtown Dancehall: A Tale of the California Gold Rush

Hangtown Dancehall: A Tale of the California Gold Rush

By Eric Brace and Karl Straub, featuring performances by Kelly Willis, Tim O'Brien, Darrell Scott, Jason Ringenberg, John Wesley Harding, and Andrea Zonn.

Hangtown Dancehall is the story of two young lovers, Betsy and Ike, who leave their Missouri home for California during the Gold Rush. Eric first met the two characters in a folk song that he heard in his childhood in Placerville, California, the epicenter of the Gold Rush, known in the 1850s as Hangtown. That song, "Sweet Betsy From Pike,"  tells the story of Betsy and Ike's trek by wagon train across the continent. The song's final verses tell of their arrival in Hangtown but Eric decided that though that's the end of the song, it wasn't the end of the tale. With Hangtown Dancehall, Eric and Karl tell the rest of Betsy and Ike's story.

CD packaging includes lyrics and narrative in a 24-page booklet, featuring the art of Julie Sola.


Track List:

1. Sweet Betsy from Pike
2. Pretty Girl in Missouri (featuring Eric Brace)
3. Gone to California (featuring Eric Brace)
4. El Dorado Two-Step (featuring Tim O’Brien)
5. If You Don’t Know Me (featuring Kelly Willis & Eric Brace)
6. Afternoons Gone Blind (featuring Karl Straub)
7. Come Back, Isaac (featuring Kelly Willis)
8. From Pearl River to Gold Mountain (featuring Andrea Zonn)
9. Marshall’s Reel
10. Smile and a Little Skin (featuring Kelly Willis)
11. Elizabeth, Precious and Rare (featuring Tim O’Brien)
12. King Midas (featuring Darrell Scott)
13. Hangtown Fry (featuring Karl Straub & Eric Brace)
14. Death in Hangtown (featuring Karl Straub)
15. Life Story [with Umbrellas] (featuring Jason Ringenberg)
16. Pike County Rose (featuring Kelly Willis)
17. I Know a Bird (featuring Eric Brace)
18. Sweet Betsy from Pike
19. Hanging Tree (featuring Wesley Stace)
20. So Many Miles (featuring Kelly Willis & Eric Brace)
21. Song for Walter (featuring Eric Brace)
22. El Dorado Farewell (featuring Tim O’Brien)


All Contents © 2020Red Beet Records | Privacy Policy | powered by MCN