Home mp3 player

Join The Newsletter

Jerry Lawson: Just a Mortal Man

Jerry Lawson: Just a Mortal Man


Jerry Lawson, lead singer and founding member of The Persuasions, makes his solo debut at 71 years old. With help from Grammy-nominated producer Eric Brace, Jerry makes the thirteen songs on Just a Mortal Man his own, with elegance, heart, and soul. The album features songs from a diverse group of writers including Paul Simon, Robert Hunter, Ayo, Phil Lee, Peter Cooper, and Brace. And Jerry pays tribute to two of his heroes, recording tunes originally done by The Temptations’ David Ruffin and Bobby “Blue” Bland. The recordings feature a core band of Nashville's finest: Joe Pisapia on electric guitar and bass, Jen Gunderman on keyboards, and Duane Blevins on drums.

While guest musicians like Jim Lauderdale and The McCrary Sisters also make appearances on Just a Mortal Man, the album is about Jerry, singing with a sweet and smoky voice that's only grown richer throughout his 71 years.

Track List:

1. Peace Like a River
2. Time and Water
3. I'm Just a Mortal Man
4. Wine
5. Never Been to Memphis
6. In the Dark
7. Down On My Knees
8. Members Only
9. I Hope That Love Always Knows Your Name
10. Woman in White
11. Once in a While
12. Loving Arms
13. I'll Come Running Back to You [live]


All Contents © 2021Red Beet Records | Privacy Policy | powered by MCN