Home mp3 player

Join The Newsletter


Eric Brace & Peter Cooper announce The Comeback Album, out April 23

“Hey, I never went away,” is what a lot of artists say when accused of making a “comeback album.” 

Not Eric Brace & Peter Cooper. After releasing two duo albums that drew praise from a bevy of critics and colleagues, Brace and Cooper went away. They wandered across the U.S. and Europe to headline shows and to tour with luminaries including John Prine, Nanci Griffith, and Todd Snider. And they took a harrowing trip into the world of children’s music, earning a Grammy nomination (“nomination” is code for “they lost”) for producing I Love: Tom T. Hall’s Songs of Fox Hollow, a star-packed album that featured Hall, Patty Griffin, Buddy Miller, Bobby Bare, Duane Eddy, Jim Lauderdale, and many more.

Now, three years after their last adult-oriented (but not in an R-rated kind of way) release, Brace & Cooper return with The Comeback Album, a sparkling set that marries nine self-penned compositions with gems from Tom T. Hall, Karl Straub, and David Halley.

Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Duane Eddy and Bluegrass Hall of Famer Mac Wiseman join Brace, Cooper, and country music torchbearer Marty Stuart for a revival of Hall’s “Mad,” and a band of players including Richard Bennett, Jen Gunderman, Rory Hoffman, Paul Griffith, David Jacques, Fats Kaplin, multi-instrumentalist/engineer Thomm Jutz and legendary steel guitarist Lloyd Green (the Byrds, Paul McCartney, Don Williams, etc.) provide the bed for Brace & Cooper’s splendid harmonies and deft storytelling.

The Comeback Album features scenes from a Johnson City jail, a Spartanburg slum, and the back ends of a few busted love affairs. It’s populated by fools, sages, tattooed sailors, victims and perpetrators, and for listeners, it’s a chance to come back and hear one of Americana music’s most intriguing and inventive acts.


1. Ancient History (Eric Brace, Peter Cooper)
2. Ponzi Scheme (Eric Brace, Peter Cooper)
3. Thompson Street (Peter Cooper, Baker Maultsby)
4. Johnson City (Eric Brace, Peter Cooper)
5. Mad (Tom T. Hall)
6. She Can’t Be Herself (Peter Cooper, Chris Cooper)
7. Kissing Booth (Eric Brace)
8. Nobody Knows (Eric Brace, Peter Cooper)
9. Boxcars (Eric Brace, Peter Cooper)
10. Carolina (Karl Straub)
11. Sailor (Eric Brace, Peter Cooper)
12. Rain Just Falls (David Halley)

Media: Lindsay Hayes, lindsay@redbeetrecords.com
Radio: Al Moss, almosspromo@gmail.com


Pre-order The Comeback Album via the Red Beet Records website by clicking here. Stream a preview of the new songs and view lyrics here.

Brace & Cooper will celebrate the release with a show at Nashville’s own Station Inn on Friday, April 19 at 9:00 pm. More details at redbeetrecords.com

Join us for a very special online show on April 4 at 7:00 pm Central on StageIt.com.

All Contents © 2020Red Beet Records | Privacy Policy | powered by MCN