Home mp3 player

Join The Newsletter

Peter Cooper - Depot Light: Songs of Eric Taylor

album cover


For his fourth solo album, Depot Light, Peter Cooper has chosen to set aside his own powerful songwriting muse and record twelve breathtaking compositions by Eric Taylor. The Houston-based Taylor has been crafting his extraordinary songs for decades. A contemporary of Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark, he's called "the Hemingway of our time" by Nanci Griffith, and if you don't know his body of work, these elegant interpretations (arranged by acoustic music maestro Thomm Jutz, with help from Justin Moses, Andrea Zonn, Pat McInerney, Mark Fain, and other stellar musicians), are an excellent place to begin your exploration.  An album of depth and nuance, plot twists and texture, sadness and beauty.

Over the past seven years, Peter Cooper has built an extraordinary body of work. He has filled three solo albums with his finely honed songs, reminiscent of (and praised by) Kris Kristofferson, John Prine, Todd Snider, Nanci Griffith, and Tom T. Hall; He has made three acclaimed records with duo partner Eric Brace; and has produced a Grammy-nominated collection, I Love: Tom T. Hall's Songs of Fox Hollow, featuring Patty Griffin, Buddy Miller, Duane Eddy, and many more luminaries.

Track List:

1. All So Much Like Me
2. Depot Light
3. The Great Divide
4. Prison Movie
5. Charley Ray McWhite
6. More Storms
7. Carnival Jim & Jean
8. Dollar Bill Hines
9. Two Fires
10. Deadwood
11. Louis Armstrong's Broken Heart
12. Happy Endings






All Contents © 2021Red Beet Records | Privacy Policy | powered by MCN